COU Recognizes Executive Leadership at Ontario’s Universities
June 22, 2021

Ontario’s university leaders play a vital role in the success of our students, communities and province by supporting diverse undergraduate and graduate programming, industry partnerships and research and innovation. Mohamed Lachemi, Chair of the Council of Ontario Universities (COU), would like to acknowledge the incredible leadership of several Presidents and Principals who have been exemplary leaders throughout their tenure, especially during the challenges brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic, as well as congratulate and welcome the incoming leaders to the sector.

Brock University

Gervan Fearon completes his term as President of Brock University on June 30, 2021. Since joining Brock in 2017, Fearon led the university through significant milestones, including establishing a new Burlington campus, engineering department and the Canada-Caribbean Institute. Fearon has also been an active member of COU, contributing greatly throughout his tenure and holding several executive positions, including member of the Executive Committee, Chair of the Government and Community Relations Committee and Chair of the Budget and Audit Committee. He will join George Brown College as its next President in August 2021.

Provost Lynn Wells will assume Brock’s Interim President position in addition to her role as Provost for a two-year term beginning July 1, 2021. Appointed Provost in 2020, Wells has focused on enhancing community engagement, building stakeholder relationships and developing and diversifying Brock’s research profile and academic programs.

For more information, visit Brock University.

Nipissing University

Cheryl Sutton assumed the role of Interim President & Vice-Chancellor of Nipissing University in July 2020. While in the interim role, Sutton prioritized student experience and wellness and expanded academic programming, including creating the first Bachelor of Science of Data Science degree available at a northern Ontario university. Sutton will return to her appointment as Vice-President, Finance and Administration, in August 2021, where COU looks forward to continuing to work with her.

Kevin Wamsley will join Nipissing University as its President & Vice-Chancellor on August 1, 2021. Wamsley comes to Nipissing from St. Francis Xavier University in Antigonish, Nova Scotia where he currently holds the position of Academic Vice-President & Provost. Wamsley is one of the world’s leading Olympic Games experts and historians.

For more information, visit Nipissing University.

University of Waterloo

Feridun Hamdullahpur completes his term as President & Vice-Chancellor of the University of Waterloo on June 30, 2021 and is an active long-term member at COU – first serving the Ontario Council on University Research (OCUR) and then the Ontario Council of Academic Vice-Presidents, before joining COU’s Executive Committee. Since assuming the presidential role in 2010, Hamdullahpur elevated Waterloo’s international profile, enhanced its student experience through experiential learning programs, championed both basic and applied research and innovation and developed the university’s 2020-2025 strategic plan.

Vivek Goel will succeed Hamdullahpur as Waterloo’s next President & Vice-Chancellor beginning his term on July 1, 2021. Goel joins Waterloo from the University of Toronto where he most recently held the position of Vice-President, Research and Innovation. Goel has also played an active role in COU, previously holding the position of Chair of OCUR and Chair of the COVID-19 Reference Group. Goel is recognized as a national and international leader in public health research and an expert in health-services evaluation.

For more information, visit the University of Waterloo.

We look forward to continuing to work with Ontario university Presidents and Principals on our shared mission of collaboration and advocacy to support the prosperity of students, communities and the province.