Award Winners

Each year, Ontario’s universities administer awards to outstanding individuals making an impact in a range of fields from women’s health, autism, nursing and research. Find out how these award winners are advancing knowledge and creating a better Ontario for our students, our communities and our province.


Autism Scholars Award

With the support of the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities (MTCU), a Scholar Awards Program in Autism has been established to ensure that Ontario attracts and retains pre-eminent scholars.

COUPN Awards

Each year, the Council of Ontario University Programs in Nursing (COUPN) celebrates achievements and advancements made in university nursing education and scholarship through its annual COUPN Awards program. The awards are presented to Ontario nursing faculty, students and health programs partners.

David C. Smith Award

The David C. Smith Award is presented annually to an individual who has significantly advanced higher education and research. It is named for the late David C. Smith, who contributed to both scholarship and public policy on higher education.

John Charles Polanyi Prizes

In honour of the achievement of John Charles Polanyi, recipient of the 1986 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, the Government of the Province of Ontario has established a fund to provide annually up to five prizes to outstanding researchers in the early stages of their career who are continuing to post-doctoral studies or have recently started a faculty appointment at an Ontario university.

Ontario Women’s Health Scholars

Funded by the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, a Scholar Awards Program in Women’s Health has been established to ensure that Ontario attracts and retains pre-eminent women’s health scholars.