2020 COUPN Awards

The training of thousands of high-quality health professionals is crucial to strong and accessible health care in our province. Each year, the Council of Ontario University Programs in Nursing (COUPN) recognizes some of Ontario’s most outstanding nursing educators and students, highlighting their excellence in patient care and their critical role in strengthening the province’s health-care system.

Faculty members, researchers, students and mentors are among the seven recipients of the 2020 Council of Ontario University Programs in Nursing (COUPN) Awards for excellence in nursing education and scholarship.

This year’s awards, the thirteenth annual, honour innovation in hands-on nursing education, research into improved transgendered care for patients and commitment to mentoring, among other achievements.

“Nurses across the province are the cornerstone of patient-centred health care in Ontario, especially during these challenging times,” said David Lindsay, President and CEO of the Council of Ontario Universities. “These highly dedicated nursing students, their faculty and their institutions play an important role in contributing to Ontario’s health-care system and we are proud to recognize their achievements.”

“Ontario’s nurses, nurse educators, and researchers work tirelessly each day to improve patient care. Particularly in light of the COVID-19 pandemic, it is an honour to highlight the extraordinary achievements of this year’s recipients,” said Dr. Linda Johnston, COUPN Chair.

More than 10,000 students graduate from health programs at Ontario universities each year, including nearly 4,500 nurses.

See below for a description of this year’s winners and their achievements.

Additional Resources:

Looking for more information about the annual Council of Ontario University Programs in Nursing (COUPN) awards?

Learn More

Looking for last year’s winners?

Learn More

Clinical Instructor Award
  • Stamatina Romas, Brock University
Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Dr. Lynn McCleary, Brock University
Preceptor Recognition Award
  • Heather Finn, Trent University
Scholarship into Practice Award
  • Dr. Craig Dale, University of Toronto
Award for Strategic Contribution to Nursing Education
  • Dr. Barbara Mildon, Community Care Health & Care Network
Master’s Student Award of Excellence
  • Kathryn Allwright, Queen’s University
Doctoral Dissertation Award
  • Dr. Erin Ziegler, Ryerson University