2019 COUPN Awards

Some of Ontario’s most outstanding nursing educators and students are being celebrated for their dedication to driving excellence in patient care as they deliver the highest-quality care to the people of Ontario while playing a critical role in strengthening the province’s health-care system.

Faculty members, researchers, students and mentors are among the eight recipients of the 2019 Council of Ontario University Programs in Nursing (COUPN) Awards for excellence in nursing education and scholarship.

This year’s awards, the twelfth annual, honour research into geriatric cancer care, innovation in hands-on nursing education, and commitment to mentoring, among other achievements.

“Behind every one of the nurses who deliver first-class patient care to Ontarians every day is another group of highly dedicated professionals – the instructors, researchers and mentors in our nursing education system,” said David Lindsay, President and CEO of the Council of Ontario Universities. “The recipients of this year’s COUPN Awards demonstrate their passion and commitment to preserving the highest quality of nursing care, now and for future generations.”

“It is a pleasure, through these awards, to be able to shine a light on the outstanding achievements of this year’s recipients in teaching and student excellence, scholarship, and contributions to nursing education,” said Jennifer Medves, COUPN Chair.

More than 10,000 students graduate from health programs at Ontario universities each year, including nearly 4,500 nurses.

See below for a list of this year’s winners.

Additional Resources:

Looking for more information about the annual Council of Ontario University Programs in Nursing (COUPN) awards?

Learn More

Looking for last year’s winners?

Learn More

Read our latest blog about the importance of high-quality nursing and patient-centred health care across Ontario.

Learn More

Doctoral Dissertation Award
  • Dr. Schroder Sattar, University of Toronto
Excellence in Professional Nursing Practice at the Undergraduate Student Level Award
  • Elizabeth Dillon, University of Windsor
Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Dr. Karyn Taplay, Brock University
Master's Student Award of Excellence
  • Brianna Jackson, Western University
Clinical Instructor Award
  • Janese Baartman, McMaster University
Preceptor Recognition Award
  • Jeff Reinhart, University of Toronto
  • Laura Sparrow, University of Toronto
Scholarship Into Practice Award
  • Dr. Martine Puts, University of Toronto